My new years resolution

3 01 2011

Well, I told you all I had something exciting to share about the coming year. 2010 was the year of the Lake Taupo Cycle Challenge. It was something I decided to do at the start of the year, trained hard for and completed – and had a hell of a lot of fun along the way!

We all need goals and things to work towards otherwise it’s hard to find motivation. My goal was to get fit so I started jogging. It was totally aimless and after a couple of weeks I just gave up completely. Then one night after work at the pub my boss and I started talking about cycling and doing the Taupo challenge. Within a couple of weeks I had bought a bike and the rest is history! I was by no means fast but I got all the way around and knocked the bastard off.

So on to 2011. I’ve set a goal this year that I probably don’t quite comprehend myself. Its going to take a hell of a lot more training than I did for the cycle challenge but will be a lot more gratifying. It’s the Taupo Half Ironman on the 10th of December. That’s a 2km swim, 90km bike and a 21.1km run to finish. It’s definitely something that’s
achievable but I don’t just want to finish it, I want to finish in under 6 hours 30 minutes.

So my new years resolution for 2011 is to complete the Taupo Half Ironman in less than six and a half hours 🙂

I have lots of events planned in the next few months so I’ll keep you posted. I’ll also give you a more detailed run down of the course of the Half Ironman for those of you who are interested.
Ciao.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

