and so it Begins

5 09 2010

It all starts this week. The start of something massive. The build-up to the big one. On Tuesday I start my training program towards completing the Lake Taupo Cycle Challenge in under 5 hours and 30 minutes.

Its a 160km ride, circumnavigating Lake Taupo, in New Zealand’s North Island. A ride I have never done before, but the goal I have set myself since I started this cycling caper back in October last year. This week I start my formal training program.

Here is the map of the course:

View Interactive Map on MapMyRide.com

Its going to be a challenging ride, plenty of hills, but something that is definitely achievable, the challenge will be the time frame I have set myself. To achieve a time of 5 hours and 30 minutes means i will need to bike at an average of about 30km/h. To put that into perspective with regard to the form I am currently in let’s compare it to a ride I have completed recently. On the 22nd of August I took part in the third ride of the Waka-Roc Winter Fun Ride Series in Matamata (where Hobbiton was filmed for the Lord of the RIngs). It was a 78km ride of rolling hills. I did it in a time of just over 3 hours, which is an average of 25km/h. So its too slow! At least I know exactly where I’m at and I guess it gives me more motivation to get out on the bike and train that little bit harder!

So just a little bit about my training schedule. Over the last year or so I have been following the story of a Kapiti man, known as Matto. He’s a man who has completed the cycle challenge once before, losing a lot of weight in the process. It is a wonderfully inspirational story that has been a huge motivation for me. The name of his personal blog is Round 2 Round and he has also written a great book called Taupo 101. Its his training schedule that I will be using to achieve my cycling goals. The ride is on the 27th of November, so stay tuned, I’ll let you know how the training is going, plus I’m going to be taking part in a lot of fun rides in the lead up to the big one so I’ll let you know how I go! The first one is Saturday coming, the Jamis Day Night Thriller!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

