the Tron, city of the future

10 01 2010

I love going home. Home for me is Hamilton, New Zealand’s largest inland city. It has a population of around 131,000 people and is New Zealand’s fastest growing city, every time I go back it seems like a new suburb has sprung up! Hamilton is a very young city with around half of residents under 30 years old and is New Zealand’s leading area for hi-tech innovative manufacturing and engineering industries. We also have New Zealand’s best Super Rugby team in the Waikato Chiefs, coming second in the Super 14 last year to the Bulls who are based in Pretoria, South Africa. The Chiefs’ home ground is Waikato stadium with a capacity of 26,000 people.

What better way to explore a city or region than on a bike? I commandeered my mother’s bike again this time and set off on a 30km route around the city. I found it so much more bike friendly than Wellington! The paths along the Waikato river are great, and almost every road I biked on this morning had its own bike lane. Not to mention the courteousness of the people I came across on my journey, almost everyone had a cheerful “good morning” for me which I’ve found sadly lacking in Wellington.

Here is the route I took:

View Interactive Map on MapMyRide.com

And the stats:
Distance: 32.81km
Time: 1h57m08s
Average Speed: 16.8km/h
Max Speed: 41.1km/h

And a few photos:

Lake Rotoroa (Hamilton Lake)

Hot Air Balloon

The Waikato River

Waikato University

Actions

Information

2 responses

11 01 2010
Matthew

I’ve been looking at the maps and all the new tracks going in up the Waikato and am thinking about a Taupo to Sea ride along the river.

Cool Post.

12 01 2010
thedrugpedaler

Cool bro. Taupo to Port Waikato? Sounds pretty epic, I think you’re onto something there.

Leave a Reply

